Congratulations South Region Seymour Award Recipient Alexander Tchekanov and Fellow Finalists

Left to right: South Region Seymour Recipient Alexander Tchekanov, with Finalists Trinity Nguyen, Christian Escobar-Gonzalez, Amy Tran, Morgan Kopecky, Alexa Crim, Jashandeep Lobana, Victoria Do, Poty Chhit, Adel Battikkha.

The Seymour Memorial Awards were established to honor both Charles F. Seymour and his devoted wife, Marian H. Seymour, who together supplied the inspiration and leadership which fostered the California Scholarship Federation. The very first award of $25 was presented to Seymour Award recipient Elizabeth Murphy (O’Neil) of Fresno High School in 1936.Each year, 50 finalists receive awards of $2,000 each, and five of these (one per region) each receive an additional $3,000 as the regional award recipient. The Seymour Award is regarded as one of the highest scholastic honors given to high school students in the state of California.